Peabodys get heightened exposure


A record 46 winners were announced when the 73rd Annual George Foster Peabody Awards were broadcast live on CBS’ “Good Morning America” in April. It was the first time the winners, chosen by the Peabody board at UGA, were announced live on television.


Hosted by Ira Glass, of “This American Life,” the awards were presented at a ceremony in New York on May 19.

Also a first this year, UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, which houses the Peabody Awards program, is partnering with Pivot, Participant Media’s television network, to produce and televise prime-time specials about the award winners.

Learn more about Pivot at

Learn more about the Peabody Awards at