Best in show: A bark out to



… Michael Doyle, Regents Professor of food microbiology and director of UGA’s Center for Food Safety, who was named by the National Academy of Inventors to the 2013 class of NAI Fellows.

… Lynn Bailey, head of the foods and nutrition department in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences, who was named a Fellow of the American Society for Nutrition.

… Charlotte Mason, professor of marketing in the Terry College of Business, who will receive this year’s Robert B. Clarke Outstanding Educator Award from Marketing EDGE, a nonprofit education organization (formerly known as the Direct Marketing Educational Foundation).


… David Shipley, Georgia Athletic Association Professor in law and Georgia faculty athletics representative, who was recognized by the National Football Foundation for his effort to foster excellence among student-athletes.

… Peter Smagorinsky, a College of Education professor, who received a national award from the American Educational Research Association for his 2011 book, Vygotsky and Literacy Research: A Methodological Framework.

… Karen E. Watkins, professor and associate head of the lifelong education, administration and policy department in the UGA College of Education, who was inducted into the Academy of Human Resource Development Scholar Hall of Fame.