Medal honors outstanding former faculty


Former UGA faculty members Louise McBee and Thomas Dyer, who died in October, are the inaugural recipients of the President’s Medal, which recognizes longstanding, extraordinary contributions to UGA by former employees and alumni. The medals, created by local artist Barbara Mann, were presented during the UGA Founder’s Day celebration on Jan. 28.


McBee, is vice president for academic affairs emerita, who held the posts of dean of women, associate dean of students, dean of students, assistant vice president for instruction, associate and senior associate vice president for academic affairs, and acting vice president for academic affairs during her 25 years at UGA. She retired in 1988. In 1991 she was elected to the Georgia House of Representatives from Clarke County and served for 14 years. She served as chair of the Higher Education Committee from 2002-2004.

Dyer was a university professor emeritus and vice president for instruction emeritus. He served as the director of Institute for Higher Education from 2003 until his retirement in 2006. His wife, Anna Burns Dyer, accepted the award on his behalf.

The medal was conceived by the UGA Emeriti Scholars to recognize the value of former employees and aumni who have supported deserving students and meaningful academic programs, advanced research that creatively explored solutions for grand challenges of our times, and inspired community leaders to engage in enhancing the quality of life of Georgians through their support of UGA.