Best in show

A bark out to


… Pratt Cassity, director of public service and outreach at the Center for Community Design and Preservation, who received the senior level Award for Excellence in Service-Learning from the The Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture.

… Michael P. Doyle, Regents Professor of Food Microbiology, who was awarded the 2013 Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Agriscience Award.

… Edward Delgado-Romero, a professor of counseling and human development services in the College of Education, who received the 2013 Distinguished Career Contributions to Research Award from a division of the American Psychological Association.

... William Underwood Eiland, director of the Georgia Museum of Art, who received the American Alliance of Museums Award for Distinguished Service to Museums.

… Bonnie Joerschke, director of the Office of Student Financial Aid, was elected chair of The College Board Southern Regional Assembly, effective in February 2014.

… James K. Reap, an associate professor in the College of Environment and Design, who was elected to the board of directors for the U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield, which was formed in 2006 in response to cultural heritage catastrophes around the world.

… Kaye Sweetser, an associate professor of public relations in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, who was appointed to the Universal Accreditation Board, a certification body for the public relations profession.

… Three College of Education faculty members who were recognized for their work by the American Educational Research Association. They are: • Peter Smagorinsky, Distinguished Research Professor of English Education, was selected as the 2013 Outstanding Reviewer for Review of Education Research, the AERA journal, and as an Outstanding Reviewer for 2013 by the editors of the “American Educational Research Journal - Teaching, Learning and Human Development.” • Joseph Tobin, the Elizabeth Garrard Hall Professor in Early Childhood Education, who received the 2013 Mentoring Award from the AERA Division G. • Laine Bradshaw, an assistant professor of educational psychology, who was awarded the 2013 Outstanding Dissertation Award for the Cognition and Assessment Special Interest Group.