2013 Celebration of Support

On Feb. 9, the University of Georgia honored its most loyal supporters at the annual Celebration of Support banquet at the Marriott Marquis in Atlanta. Honorees this year included Craig and Diana Barrow III, Amanda and Greg Gregory, Donald M. Leebern Jr. a

2013 Celebration of Support

From left: President Michael F. Adams, Donald M. Leebern Jr., Suzanne Yoculan Leebern, Greg Gregory, Amanda Gregory, David Leitch, Janice Leitch, Craig Barrow III and Diana Barrow attend the 2013 Celebration of Support.

Donald M. Leebern Jr. (M ’60)

Don Leebern’s gifts to UGA total more than $7 million, reaching almost every corner of the campus, including the UGA Athletic Association, the Division of External Affairs, the School of Public and International Affairs, the C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry College of Business, the Performing and Visual Arts Center and many other special projects. His largest support has gone to UGA’s athletic endeavors, through the endowment of four scholarships for football and gymnastics, and through the support of baseball, golf, tennis and basketball. He has helped fund 34 full student scholarships over the last 10 years. He has served as a member of the University System of Georgia Board of Regents since 1991, as board chairman from 1994-95. He was the seventh recipient of the Elridge McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the longest-serving regent and USG Foundation trustee. Leebern is a member of UGA’s Abraham Baldwin Society.

Donald Leebern Jr. and Suzanne Yoculan Leebern

Craig (AB ’65) and Diana (AB ’65) Barrow III

Support from the Barrows and the trustees of the Wormsloe Foundation exceeds $1.1 million and benefits multiple UGA programs including the Libraries, the UGA Press, the Office of Academic Affairs, the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, the Graduate School and the State Botanical Garden of Georgia. The historic Wormsloe Plantation in Savannah, where the Barrows live, has provided research opportunities for other campus units, including the College of Environment and Design and the Eugene P. Odum School of Ecology. Craig Barrow is a founder of the Board of Visitors at the UGA Libraries and served as chairman of the campaign to raise money for the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries. He also is founder and current chairman of the UGA Press Advisory Council. He is a former UGA Foundation trustee. Diana Barrow is a member of the board of the State Botanical Garden. In 2010, the Barrow Family received the Family of the Year Award from the UGA Alumni Association. The Barrows are members of UGA’s 1785 Society.

Craig and Diana Barrow

Amanda (BSEd ’69) and Greg (ABJ ’06) Gregory

The Gregorys’ support of UGA exceeds $1 million, primarily benefitting the history department at the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. Their gifts established the Amanda and Greg Gregory Chair in the Civil War Era and provided for graduate student and faculty Civil War-era research. Another gift will bring a prominent historian to campus this fall to hold seminars with students and deliver a public lecture. Greg Gregory is a UGA Foundation trustee and is a member of the Franklin College Dean’s Council. He has served as a member of the C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry College of Business Board of Advisers. The Gregorys are members of UGA’s 1785 Society.

Greg and Amanda Gregory


Represented by David Leitch (BSPH ’73), Kroger was recognized for providing more than $1.4 million for the UGA College of Pharmacy for research and development and Community Pharmacy initiatives. The company has supported the Vision Plus Pharmacy Discretionary Fund, the Discretionary and Enhancement Fund and the Kroger Professorship in Community Pharmacy. Kroger established three scholarship funds: the Robert E. Long Kroger Pharmacy Scholarship, the Heidi Flye Kroger Memorial Scholarship and the Kroger Endowed Student Scholarship. Kroger also supported the entire Pharmacy South Building expansion. Kroger is a significant supporter of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Cooperative Extension programs and Georgia’s 4-H programs at Rock Eagle 4-H Center. Kroger was the first corporate partner in the Rock Eagle 4-H Center Cabin Campaign. Kroger is a member of UGA’s 1785 Society.

Bill Young, David Leitch, Michael F. Adams