Best in show


A back out to

… Stephen Berry, associate professor of history, and William Kretzschmar, professor of English, both in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, who were among seven recipients nationally of the 2013 American Council of Learned Societies Digital Innovation Fellowships.

… Laura Bierema, a College of Education professor, who received the 2013 Outstanding Scholar Award from the Academy of Human Resources Development for her pioneering feminist research in the field.

… Natasha Brison, a College of Education doctoral student, who received the 2013 Maloy Student Research Award from the Sport and Recreation Law Association.


… Judith Ortiz Cofer, Regents and Franklin Professor of English and Creative Writing in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, who was named UGA’s 2013 recipient of the Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award.














… Jeffrey Dorfman, professor of agricultural and applied economics, who was named a fellow of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, the top professional association for agricultural and natural resource economists.

… Erik Jacobson, a doctoral candidate in mathematics education, who received a $20,000 dissertation award from the Grants Board of the American Educational Research Association.

... Carolyn Medine, a professor in the department of religion and the Institute for African American Studies, who was selected to receive the 2013 Excellence in Teaching Award from the American Academy of Religion.

… Henry “Fritz” Schaefer, Graham Perdue Professor of Chemistry, who received the Chemical Pioneer Award, recognizing researchers whose work has had a major influence on advances in chemistry, from the American Institute of Chemists.


… School of Law third-year students Katie A. Croghan, from Dumfries, Va., and Mary Beth Martinez, from Milledgeville, who won the 23rd Annual National First Amendment Moot Court Competition at Vanderbilt Law School.

… UGA’s Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps department, which received one of eight MacArthur Awards, recognizing the ideals of duty, honor and country, for the school year 2011-12 from the U.S. Army Cadet Command.