Best in show

A bark out to


… Chuck Bargeron, associate director for the UGA Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health in Tifton, who was named to the Invasive Species Advisory Committee for the National Invasive Species Council.


… Diane Marie Amann, Woodruff Chair in International Law, who was appointed by International Criminal Court Prosecutor Fatou Bensouda as her special adviser on children in and affected by armed conflict.


Associate Professor of Agriculture Maria Navarro, who received the New Teacher Award from the U.S. Department of Agriculture as part of the National Awards Program for Excellence in College and University Teaching in Food and Agricultural Sciences.

Professor Elizabeth Jean Reitz (anthropology), Professor Lisa Alayne Donovan (plant biology), Professor and Associate Head Nancy R. Manley (genetics), Professor and Head Allen J. Moore (genetics) and Professor Sally Walker (geology), who were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

… Elizabeth Andress, a professor of foods and nutrition, who was named the 2012 recipient of the National Award for Excellence in Extension for her long-term success in combining research and education in food safety.


…. Tianming Liu, assistant professor of computer science, who received a CAREER award by the National Science Foundation.

… Sean Szad of Richmond Hill, and Will Spence of Perry, second-year doctoral students in the College of Pharmacy, who were chosen for the U.S. Navy’s Health Services Collegiate Program Medical Service Corps—a selective program that this year accepted only five recipients from applicants across the country.

… School of Law third-year students Chandler L. Smith and Timothy F.J. “Tim” Dean, who placed first, and third-year students Nneka A. Egwuatu and Scott F. McAfee, who placed second, at the Third Annual Legal Ethics and Professionalism Moot Court Competition. McAfee was named the tournament’s best oralist.