Best In Show

A bark out to


…. Distinguished Research Professor in microbiology Daniel Colley, who was awarded the 2012 Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Distinguished Life Sciences Scientist Award for his research in tropical medicine and parasitology.

… Daniel C. Feldman, associate dean in the Terry College of Business, who won the 2012 Scholarly Impact Award from the Journal of Management.




… Entomology Professor Nancy Hinkle, who received a Lifetime Achievement Award from her peers at the annual Livestock Insect Workers’ Conference.

... Arthur M. (Andy) Horne, College of Education dean and Distinguished Research Professor, who received a 2012 Lifetime Contributions Award from the Council of Counseling Psychology Training Programs.

… Robert L. Izlar, director of the Georgia Forestry Association and UGA’s Center for Forest Business, who received the Society of American Foresters’ Sir William Schlich Memorial Award—one of nine national awards that the Society is giving this year.

… Wildlife Ecology Professor Karl V. Miller, who received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Quality Deer Management Association for helping advance white-tailed deer research and management.

… Gregory H. Robinson, Franklin Professor and Distinguished Research Professor of Chemistry, who received the F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry from the American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society.


… Robert N. “Bob” Saveland, College of Education professor emeritus, who received the George J. Miller Award for Distinguished Service to Geographic Education, the top award presented by the National Council for Geographic Education.