Undergraduates take top honors


Georgia undergraduates continue to win national acclaim, with four this year named 2012 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars and three awarded 2012 Morris K. Udall and Stewart L. Udall Foundation Scholarships.

Goldwater scholars, left to right, Ligon, DeLeo, Stratmann and Trible.

Goldwater recipients Victoria DeLeo, a sophomore from Davie, Fla., who is pursuing bachelor’s degrees in biotechnology and genetics;
Marianne Ligon, a sophomore from Clemson, S.C., who is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in cellular biology;
Theresa Stratmann, a junior from Irmo, S.C., who is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in ecology; and
Waring “Buck” Trible III, a junior from Fredericksburg, Va., who is pursuing bachelor’s degrees in ecology and entomology, will receive up to $7,500 a year to cover their education expenses. UGA has had 43 Goldwater scholars.

Udall award winners Heather Hatzenbuhler, a junior from Lawrenceville, who is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental ethics and management; Malavika Rajeev, a junior from Tifton, who is pursuing a joint bachelor’s/master’s degree in ecology, and Stratmann will receive $5,000 in scholarship money. Two other UGA students,
juniors Ian Karra of Roswell and Rosemary Gay of Douglasville each received honorable mentions in the national scholarship competition. Since 2003, UGA has had 10 Udall award winners.

Udall scholars, left to right, Hatzenbuhler, Rajeev and Stratmann.