Loch Johnson inaugural SEC award winner

Loch Johnson inaugural SEC award winner

Photo by: RICK O’QUINN

Loch Johnson, Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs and a Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, is the inaugural winner of the Southeastern Conference Professor of the Year Award. Johnson was selected from a field of 12 candidates each selected as the faculty achievement award winner from their university. The award honors a professor from an SEC school with superlative records in both teaching and scholarship who serves as role models for other faculty members and students. Johnson received $5,000 for his selection as the UGA award winner and $15,000 for the overall SEC award. Both honors are the first of their kind in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association.