Best in Show


Jessica Van Parys

… Graduate Jessica Van Parys, a UGA Honors student who earned combined bachelor’s/master’s degrees in economics and a bachelor’s degree in political science in May, received a Jacob K. Javits Graduate Fellowship from the U.S. Department of Education and a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

… Four UGA cancer researchers were selected as Distinguished Cancer Clinicians and Scientists by the Georgia Cancer Coalition for 2009-10. They are Kevin Dobbin, assistant professor of biostatistics, College of Public Health; Natarajan Kannan, assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences Institute of Bioinformatics; Mandi Murph, assistant professor of pharmaceutical and biomedical sciences, College of Pharmacy; and Jia-Sheng Wang, professor and department head of Environmental Health Science, College of Public Health.

Kecia Thomas

Kecia Thomas, senior advisor to the dean for inclusion and diversity leadership in the College of Arts and Sciences, who won the Janet Chusmir Service Award from the National Academy of Management.

... Recreation and leisure Professor Douglas Kleiber, who received the Society for Park and Recreation Educators’ Distinguished Colleague Award—the group’s highest recognition.

… Education Professor Juanita Johnson-Bailey, interim director of the Institute of Women’s Studies, who was named to the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame’s Class of 2009.

… Tull Professor of Accounting Linda Bamber, who received this year’s Outstanding Accounting Educator Award from the American Accounting Association. … William A. Mann, professor emeritus at the College of Environment & Design, who was inducted into the Council of Fellows for the American Society of Landscape Architects.

… Housing and consumer economics Professor Brenda Cude, who was named a Distinguished Fellow by the American Council on Consumer Interests.

… Accounting Professor Mark C. Dawkins, associate dean for academic programs at the Terry College of Business, who was one of five faculty members nationwide selected to receive the inaugural Ernst & Young Inclusive Excellence Award for Accounting and Business School Faculty.

Gwynn Powell

… Counseling professor Gwynn Powell, who received a Diploma of Honor from Mari El’s Ministry of Education for collaboration in education through the Camp Counselors Russia Study Abroad Program. Powell pioneered UGA’s first study abroad program in Russia.