Best in show


A Bark Out To

… the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences’ Orientation Academic Advising Programs, which received an Institutional Advising Program Certificate of Merit from the National Academic Advising Association.

… education professors Peter Smagorinsky and Elizabeth St. Pierre, who were recognized as Outstanding Reviewers by the Educational Researcher, the journal of the American Educational Research Association.

Mary Kay Mitchell

Mary Kay Mitchell

… WUGA News Director Mary Kay Mitchell and former WUGA intern Rebecca Bowen. Mitchell won five first place awards, including Best Anchor/Reporter and Best Series Reporting, and Bowen received the Best Spot News Story Award from the Georgia Associated Press Broadcasters Association.

… kinesiology professor Elaine Cress, who received the 2008 Herbert H. deVries Award for Distinguished Research in the field of aging and gerontology from the American Association for Physical Activity and Recreation.

… students Brian Hughes and Samantha Promisloff, who were named two of the inaugural UWIRE 100, a group of 100 students who represent an elite crop of aspiring media professionals.

… the UGA community, which ranked third out of more than 200 campuses for RecyleMania’s Gorilla Prize in the partial campus category for the most collected pounds of recyclables.

Ronald VanSickle, professor of social studies education and head of the department of elementary and social studies education in the College of Education, who was honored for more than 25 years of distinguished service in teaching economics by the National Association of Economic Educators.

… two student teams from the UGA School of Law, which won Best Brief and Best Oralist awards at the 2008 Interstate Moot Court Competition.

Rose Chepyator-Thomson, professor of physical education and director of UGA’s Cultural Studies in Physical Activity Laboratory, who received the Nell C. Jackson Memorial Award from the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

… Professor Emeritus Roger B. Winston Jr., who received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American College Personnel Association.

… the Georgia Review, UGA’s quarterly journal of arts and letters, which earned seven honors—including gold awards in general excellence, best feature, best profile and best photography—at the Magazine Association of the Southeast’s 2008 GAMMA Awards.

Caree Jackson

Caree Jackson

… a team of family financial planning majors from the College of Family and Consumer Sciences, who placed second in the national Ameriprise Financial Planning Invitational in Minneapolis.

… Ph.D. foods and nutrition candidate Caree Jackson, who was one of 15 students nationwide chosen for the Kellogg Health Scholars Program.

… junior journalism student JoAnn Anderson, who was one of six and the only female 2008 Robert L. Bartley Fellow at the Wall Street Journal.

—compiled by Lesley Onstott