Grad Notes

Compiled by Chase Martin

Due to the volume of submissions we are not able to confirm that we have received your note. Please be patient. It can sometimes take a few months for a note to appear in the magazine after it has been submitted.

Arts & Sciences

Helen S. Garson (MA ’47) of Gaithersburg, Md., taught for more than 30 years at George Mason University, where she also served as a dean for several years. She is the author of multiple articles and seven books. Faye Farmer Chatman (MA ’82) of McDonough was elected president of the Georgia Association for Women in Higher Education. Michael Purugganan (PhD ’93) of New York, N.Y., was honored by New York University with a special reception in Manila, the Philippines. Steven E. Wheeler (PhD ’06) of College Station, Texas, received the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development Award. Carrie Givens (PhD ’12) of Columbia, S.C., received the Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship, a one-year paid program that will allow Givens to work in D.C. with national policy decision makers that regulate marine environments.


Wesley Alexander Griffin (MBA ’01) of Charlotte, N.C., received the Governor’s Citation from Gov. Martin O’Malley and an Official Citation from the Maryland General Assembly in recognition of a distinguished military career with the U.S. Navy.


Terrance Edward DePasquale (EdD ’89) of Greensburg, Pa., was promoted to associate provost at Seton Hill University. Kevin D. Rome (MEd ’91) of Durham, N.C., was named president of Lincoln University. Victoria W. Hunnicutt (EdS ’93) of Gray was recognized by Strathmore’s Who’s Who Registry for her outstanding contributions and achievements in the field of education. Kimberly Osborne (PhD ’06) of Arlington, Va., began a new position with the U.S. Department of Defense as chief strategic communications advisor, supporting the Afghan Ministry of Defense. Matthew R. Thompson (PhD ’08) of Lakeland, Fla., was elected president of Kansas Wesleyan University. Rodney Ellis (EdD ’11) of Atlanta was elected chancellor of Central Louisiana Technical Community College.

Journalism & Mass Communication

Martha Saunders (MA ’79) of Gulf Breeze, Fla., was elected provost as well as vice president for academic affairs at the University of West Florida. Charles Nelson Davis (MA ’92) was named dean of the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. Adamantia Kriton Hatzios (MA ’06) of Atlanta joined the Metro Atlanta Chamber as a media specialist.


Susan Warren Cox (JD ’78) of Statesboro was inducted as a fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers. Mary Staley (JD ’78) of Marietta was elected secretary/treasurer of the Council of Superior Court Judges. Don L. Waters (JD ’78) of Savannah was appointed to the University System of Georgia Board of Regents. Henry Thompson (JD ’94) of Acworth was appointed to fill a seat on the Cobb State Court bench. Carla Wong McMillian (JD ’98) of Tyrone was appointed to the State Court of Appeals as the first Asian-American to serve on a Georgia appellate court.

Social Work

Monsignor David Talley (MSW ’85) of Alpharetta was named as an auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of Atlanta by Benedict XVI, the pope emeritus.

Veterinary Medicine

Charles E. Hamner (DVM ’60, MS ’62, PhD ’64) of Chapel Hill, N.C., received the NanoBusiness Pioneer Award for his 50-plus years of service to the fields of science, and WRAL Techwire honored him with a Lifetime Achievement Award and a “Yardmaster” for his visionary leadership in the state. Christina Chambreau (DVM ’80) of Sparks Glencoe, Md., is associate editor for the Integrated Veterinary Care Journal and adjunct faculty in the Veterinary Technician Program at Baltimore County Community College. Rebecca Kestle (DVM ’85) of Atlanta expanded her Canine Reproductive Services, buying a new building and opening Dec. 26 in Sandy Springs. Denise Funk (MS ’88, DVM ’92) of Gainesville was elected president of the Georgia Veterinary Medical Association.