Grad Notes

Compiled by Grace Morris and Meg Twomey

Due to the volume of submissions we are not able to confirm that we have received your note. Please be patient. It can sometimes take a few months for a note to appear in the magazine after it has been submitted.

Arts & Sciences

Joseph P. Hester (PhD ’73) and Don R. Killian had an article, “The Moral Foundations of Ethical Leadership,” published in The Journal of Values-Based Leadership. Robert J. Jones (MS ’75), senior vice president for system academic administration at the University of Minnesota, is one of the 2010 recipients of the Michael P.  Malone International Leadership Award. Paul Wojtkowski (MS ’84, PhD ’89) gave the keynote address at the European Society for Agronomy Conference in France. Cindy Haynes (MS ’91, PhD ’96) is an associate professor of horticulture at Iowa State University and received the 2010 Teacher Fellow Award from the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture. A. Jamie Cuticchia (PhD ’92) earned a Juris Doctor degree magna cum laude from North Carolina Central University. His latest book, Genetics: A Handbook for Lawyers, was published by the American Bar Association this year. Therese Malundo (MS ’92, PhD ’96) is vice president of science and technology at Z Trim, a multifunctional dietary fiber ingredient manufacturing firm in Chicago. Witoon Prinyawiwatkul (MS ’92, PhD ’96) received the 2010 Distinguished Achievement to Agriculture Award from the Louisiana State University chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta. Lori Purcell Bledsoe (BSEd ’94, MAExt ’96, EdD ’03) was elected to a three-year term as president-elect, president and past president of the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents. Peter Taormina (MS ’98, PhD ’01), principal microbiologist for John Morrell Food Group in Cincinnati, is a registrant of the National Registry of Certified Microbiologists. Edward Valeev (PhD ’00) received the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar award. He is an assistant professor in the College of Science at Virginia Tech. Michelle Danyluk (MS ’02) received the Larry Beauchat Young Researcher Award from the International Association for Foo


William “Brad” Bryant (MBA ’76) is the superintendent of schools for the state of Georgia. Michael Amos (MBA ’77) joined Coldwell Banker Commercial Bullard in Peachtree City as a senior vice president and associate banker. Gordon “Joe” Edenfield (MAcc ’89) earned his doctorate of philosophy from Old Dominion University. Milton W. Troy (MBA ’02) was promoted to the rank of commander in the United States Navy.


Fred Harrison (MEd ’72) is serving on the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency state committee in Georgia. This committee oversees agency activities such as carrying out the state agricultural conservation programs, resolving appeals from the agriculture community and keeping producers informed about FSA programs.  Richard Whatley (EdD ’74) retired from his position as superintendent of Newton County schools. Steven Ender (MEd ’76, EdD ’81) is president of Grand Rapids Community College. Jan Adamson (BSEd ’80, MEd ’83) is the principal at R.M. Moore Elementary School in Waleska. Bonnie C. Higginson (PhD ’85) is the provost of Murray State University in Murray, Ky. Dana James (BSEd ’81, MEd ’88) is the headmaster at Seven Rivers Christian School in Citrus County, Fla. He was previously headmaster at Westminster Christian Academy in Watkinsville. Jim Cottingham (EdD ’90) retired from his position as president for student affairs at South Georgia College. Michael Patterson (MEd ’98) received the 2010 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics Teaching in Nevada. Thomas Scott Mowbray (MMEd ’01) welcomed his daughter, Elizabeth Rose, on June 27. Ashlee Rauckhorst (MEd ’08) was named coordinator of student affairs and academic advisor at Ohio University-Chillicothe. Lindsey McKinney Ridgeway (MEd ’10) is the director of student services at the new Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine in Spartanburg, S.C.

Enviroment and Design

Olivia A. Mickalonis (MLA ’07) was chosen to design the new entrance to Ft. Stewart.

Journalism & Mass Communication

Dawn McCall (MMC ’98) is the coordinator of the Bureau of International Information Programs at the U.S. Department of State.  Previously she served as president of Discovery Networks International and founded International Media and Entertainment Partners LLC in 2009.


William C. Rumer (JD ’75) was appointed to the Muscogee County Superior Court. Randy Nuckolls (BSA ’74, JD ’77) received the 2010 Green Jacket Award at the 68th Annual Georgia 4-H State Congress. As a partner in McKenna, Long &  Aldridge LLP, Nuckolls serves as the Washington counsel for the University of Georgia. Steven D. Smith (JD ’78) was appointed municipal court judge for Columbus. Teddy Lee Henley (JD ’81) was reappointed as Floyd County chief public defender for a third consecutive term. Dr. Scott Fowler (JD ’85) is president of the Holston Medical Group. He previously served as the chair of legal affairs for the group. Alan F. Rothschild Jr. (JD ’85) was elected chair of the real property, trust and estate law section of the American Bar Association. He is a partner at Hatcher Stubbs in Columbus. Deborah Morgan Foresman (JD ’86) is a senior labor attorney with the Office of the Staff Judge Advocate at Fort Belvoir, Va. Peter D. Muller (ABJ ’84, JD ’87) is the managing partner of the Goodman McGuffey Lindsey & Johnson LLP Savannah office. Joseph W. Dent (JD ’91) was elected to serve on the board of governors for the State Bar of Georgia. He is an attorney at Watson Spence in Albany. Robert H. Smalley III (JD ’92) is the chairman of the Whitfield Healthcare Foundation. Allen D. Morris (BBA ’88, JD ’93) was appointed a Cherokee County state court judge. Michael Geoffroy (JD ’01) is president of the Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar of Georgia. He is also a fellow with the Lawyers Foundation of Georgia and a member of the Lawyers Club of Atlanta. Hillary S. Stringfellow (BSA ’00, JD ’03) was named to the State Ethics Commission. She is an attorney at Gilbert, Harrell, Sumerford & Martin in Brunswick.


Mandy Davenport (PharmD ’02) participated in a four-day medical and dental mission trip to Belize.

Public and International Affairs

Steven Elliott-Gower (MA ’86, PhD ’89) was elected president of the Georgia Collegiate Honors Council. He is the director of the Georgia College Honors Program and an associate professor of political science at UGA.

Veterinary Medicine

Barry A. Ball (DVM ’81) is the Albert G. Clay Endowed Chair in Equine Reproduction at the University of Kentucky’s Maxwell H. Gluck Equine Research Center. Staci Hutsell (BS ’06, DVM ’10) is a veterinary intern at VCA South Shore Animal Hospital in South Weymouth, Mass.