Grad Notes

Compiled by Jackie Reedy and Paige Varner

Due to the volume of submissions we are not able to confirm that we have received your note. Please be patient. It can sometimes take a few months for a note to appear in the magazine after it has been submitted.

Arts & Sciences

James L. Smith (BSFR ’76, MS ’79), manager of the Nature Conservancy’s LANDFIRE project, received the U.S. Geological Survey’s 2009 John Wesley Powell Award. Donald Schaffner (MS ’85, PhD ’89) received the 2009 Elmer Marth Educator Award for the International Association for Food Protection. Stanford G. Wilson (BSA ’93, MAEXT ’98) and John C. Stivarius (AB ’77) are two of Georgia Trend’s “Legal Elite” for 2009. Renita Jones Anderson (PhD ’94) and Rob Anderson of Decatur welcomed their daughter Chloe Jane on Aug. 29. Robert E. Frank (PhD ’95) is the director of international affairs at Longwood University in Farmville, Va. Lynn Hanson (PhD ’96), an assistant professor of English, received the Shared Governance Award, sponsored by the FMU Chapter of the American Association of University Professors. Christopher Fennell (MFA ’02), a renowned sculptor, completed his first colossal creation in Maine. Scott Chandler Tobias (MMEd ’94, DMA ’04), associate professor of music at Appalachian State University in Boone, N.C., is one of seven professors to receive the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.



Steven Voynich (MAcc ’05) of Columbus was featured in an article in the Columbus Ledger-Enquirer. Brant Barrow (BBA ’08, MAcc ’09) of Atlanta received his Masters of Accountancy degree from the Terry College upon his completion of the program at the University of Bocconi in Milan, Italy. After interning at KPMG International Accounting Firm, he served as a KPMG Ambassador for recruiting at UGA. He now joins KPMG as an auditor in the Atlanta office. Brant is currently serving a three-year term as a member of the UGA Terry College of Business Young Alumni Board.


Neal Glenn (MBA ’75) is one of 13 business people starting a bank in Elberton and Hartwell that has received preliminary approval from the FDIC and the state of Georgia. Trey Paris (BBA ’84, MBA ’85) of Gainesville, Ga., immediate past president of the UGA Alumni Association, helped the association initiate a program called “100 Best Bulldogs,” which recognizes businesses owned or operated by UGA grads. The first awards were featured at a gala in January in Atlanta. George Cheng (PhD ’84) of Virginia Beach, Va., was named to Who’s Who in America. Diane Peoples (BBA ’85, MBM ’88), a senior account executive with the Norton Agency, a full-service advertising agency, opened an office in Atlanta. Stefan Terwindt (MBA ’89) of Atlanta was appointed executive vice president of The Arcas Group, a leading life-sciences marketing organization. Jason Herskowitz (MBA ’96) of Potomac Falls, Va., joined Lime Wire as vice president for product management. Alex Wes Griffin (MBA ’01) of Chesapeake, Va., is an active duty naval supply officer and is currently assigned as military cooperation division fund manager at NATO headquarters, Supreme Allied Command Transformation, Norfolk, Va. He won first place in the 2008 Defense Acquisition University Alumni Association Hirsch Research Paper competition. Alex Patterson (BBA ’01, MBA ’05), chief systems officer of the South Georgia Health System in Valdosta, was accepted into the Leadership GHA Class of 2009-10, a prestigious health care leadership program of the Georgia Hospital Association. He was one of only 22 hospital employees from around the state accepted into the program. Rachel Elliott (MBA ’08) of Atlanta is the operations director for Professional MBA Programs in the Terry College of Business.


Maxine Burton (BSEd ’72, MEd ’78), president and chief operating officer of burton + BURTON, is one of Gifts and Decorative Accessories Magazine’s “15 Gifted Women.” Freida Hill (MEd ’82, EdD ’92) is chancellor of Alabama’s two-year college system. She is the first female to hold the position on a permanent basis. Connie Fox (EdD ’84), associate professor in the department of kinesiology and physical education, is the associate dean for the college of education at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Ill. Sheila O. Kahrs (EdD ’92), the principal of Haymon-Morris Middle School in Winder is the 2009-10 National Middle Level Principal of the Year. Juanita Johnson-Bailey (MEd ’93, EdD ’94) was named to the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame’s Class of 2009. Cynthia Ann Greer (MEd ’95) is the 2009 Teacher of the Year for the Texas Chapter of the Council for Learning Disabilities. Angela Robinson Yancey (BSEd ’91, MEd ’96) of Rome, Ga., completed a specialist degree in educational leadership at Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tenn., and teaches gifted education at Model Elementary School in Floyd County. Brooke Barrick (BSFCS ’02, MEd ’03) is an independent stylist at Stella & Dot.


Jim Blanchard (BBA ’63, JD ’65), retired Synovus chairman and CEO, received the first Georgia Ethics in Business Award, which will henceforth be named after him. Robert Calhoun Martin Jr. (JD ’80) is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Ertharin Cousin (JD ’82), a senior adviser to the Obama presidential campaign, is the president’s ambassador to the three U.N. food agencies in Rome. Daniel P. Griffin (BBA ’83, JD ’86) is a partner and managing member of the Miller & Martin law firm’s Atlanta office. Stephen Kelley (JD ’86) was named the District Attorney of the Year by the District Attorneys Association of Georgia. Lori T.  Chesser (JD ’87) of Des Moines, Iowa, was recognized by the 2010 Best Lawyers in America in immigration law. David Tomlin (BBA ’85, JD ’90) joined RCB Financial Services and River City Bank as a financial consultant. Sheri Roberts (BBA ’85, MBA ’86, JD ’92) of Covington was appointed to a four-year term as judge of the Newton County Juvenile Court. James Blitch (MBA ’96, JD ’96) of Atlanta won a Professionalism Award from the Atlanta Bar Association at the annual meeting and awards luncheon. Blitch is with Holland Schaeffer Roddenbery Blitch LLP. Chris Smith (JD ’99), an attorney at Hunter Maclean, is on the board of directors for the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Savannah, a non-profit organization that provides a safe, welcoming place for more than 1,500 local youth and their families. Patrick N. Millsaps (JD ’00) was appointed to the Georgia State Ethics Commission by Gov. Sonny Perdue. Anita Johnson Clark (AB ’98, JD ’01) and Ted Clark of Jonesboro welcomed their daughter Catherine “Cate” Lucy Clark on Sept. 4.


Elizabeth Morgan Millsaps (PharmD ’03) owns and operates MAK Medical and MAK Pharmacy in Camilla, providing specialty pharmacy and home infusion services to more than 30 rural counties in Southwest Georgia. Erica Woodard Bowles (PharmD ’04), a long-term care pharmacist at Gayco Healthcare in Dublin, and Brian Bowles welcomed their daughter Addison Nicole on Dec. 10. They also have a son, Hayden Brian.